Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

1039
Beer has a long tradition in Bamberg . The first documented reference dates back to the year 1039-. The first brewing charter was granted  in 1122 by Bishop Otto I  ( 1102- 39 ) to the Benedictine Monastery at the Michelsberg.

1439
The Princes of the time cared greatly about the quality of the beer. The sovereign Bishop Heinrich III , Great of Trockau ( 1487- 1501 ) decreed in 1489 the Bamberger Purity law , which laid down, that nothing else than Hops , Malt and water were to be used in the brewing process . And so this preceded by 27 years  the Bavarian Purity Law , which is still in existence today.

18 Jhd.
Bamberg’s ascendency to a beer city was in the 18 Th century . Especially in the Schönborn period , under the sovereign bishop Lothar Franz ( 1693 – 1729 ) and Friedrich Karl ( 1729- 1746 ) of Schönborn, trade and craftsmanship were strongly promoted, this lead to a kind of economic miracle (Wirtschaftswunder).

1718
During these prosperous years the brewery was founded, as is registered in the ledgers of the Michelsberg Monastery from 1718. At this time there were three public houses in the village of Gaustadt, with only 300 inhabitants. One of these public houses belonged to the Benedictine Monastery St. Michelsberg of Bamberg, and for this public house, Georg Morg, the tenant at that time was granted permission to establish a brewery.

Auszug aus dem Protokollbuch des Klosters Michaelsberg von 1718

1900
Around the year 1900 the brewery was called „ Müller’sche Brewery of Gaustadt ) and the owner Anton Müller had „ only „ four daughters.

1910
Georg Wörner, the grandfather of the current owner, was one of the nine children of the brewery owner Michael Wörner from „ Erbacher Brewery „ in Erbach / Odenwald. In the course of his apprenticeship and travelling years he met Monika Müller in Gaustadt, one of the four daughters of Anton Müller. They were married on 28 th January 1910. From then on the Brewery was called “ Brewery Wörner “ and then later “ Brewery Gaustadt “.

 

 

1953
In the year 1953 Georg Wörner transferred the Brewery to his two sons, Theodor and Ludwig. At this time the output of the brewery was 6.000 hl per annum.

 

1956
During the course of the following years, the output rose steadily ( from 1956 alcohol free refreshment beverages were produced ) such that from the middle of the 1960’s the brewery became too small. There was no room for expansion on the current site, so Theodor and Ludwig took the brave decision to build a complete new brewery on a green field site.

1969
After a two year construction period, the first brew was made in the new brewery in March 1969. During a further successive three expansion phases in the years that followed, the brewery reached its current size on 55.000 m² and with a production capacity of 300.000 hl p.a.

1972
In 1972,  the up until this time independent borough of Gaustadt , became part of the city of Bamberg . This was the beginning of the process to incorporate the famous sights and buildings into the marketing of the Brewery. New Beer Types were created bearing the name Kaiserdom . Kaiserdom Pilsener was offered to the consumers for the first time  at the church consecration festivities of 1976. It was a huge success.

1978
After the sudden death of Ludwig Wörner on March 28 th 1978 , his son Georg entered the brewery. At this time he had already finished his studies in Weihenstephan ( Dipl Ing ) and Munich ( Dipl Wirtsh. Ing ) , but was in the middle of his doctorate in Weihenstephan with Prof. Narziss. Upon his father’s death, he gave up his futher studies to concentrate on the interest of the family business.  Already at this time, Georg Wörner had decided not only to sell his beers in Germany, but to systematically build up the Export business for the Kaiserdom brand. Today the company exports worldwide, in China and Sweden there is licence Production. On January 1 st 1986 Georg Wörner and his family assumed the full ownership of the brewery (third Generation).

1980
Kaiserdom starts to systematically and consequently establich itself on the world beer market.

1990
Addition of the Business field Technics and Technonolgy.

2012
New construction of a loading terminal.

2013
Modernisation and expansion of the filling line.

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

1093
Bier hat in Bamberg lange Tradition. Die erste urkundliche Erwähnung geht auf das Jahr 1039 zurück. Das erste offizielle Braurecht wird 1122 durch Bischof Otto I. (1102- 39) dem Benediktinerkloster auf dem Michelsberg verliehen.

1489
Die Landesfürsten waren schon damals auf gute Qualität des Bieres bedacht. So erließ der Fürstbischof Heinrich lll. Groß von Trockau (1487- 1501) 1489 das Bamberger Reinheitsgebot, indem er festlegte, dass beim "Einsieden nichts mere denn Hopfen, Malz und Wasser zu nemen sey" - und kam damit dem heute noch gültigen Bayrischen Reinheitsgebot um 27 Jahre zuvor!

18 Jhd.
Der Aufstieg zur Bierstadt gelang Bamberg im 18. Jahrhundert. Insbesondere in der Schönbornzeit, unter dem Fürstbischof Lothar Franz (1693- 1729)und Friedrich Karl (1729- 1746) von Schönborn, wurden Handel und Handwerk stark gefördert; es brach so etwas wie ein Wirtschaftswunder aus.

1718
Im Zuge dieser aufblühenden Jahre wurde die Brauerei gegründet, was im Protokollbuch des Klosters Michelsberg vom Jahre 1718 vermerkt ist. Damals gab es in dem Dorf Gaustadt bereits drei Wirtshäuser - bei ca. 300 Einwohnern. Eines davon gehörte dem Benediktinerkloster St. Michaelsberg zu Bamberg - und für dieses Wirtshaus erhielt seinerzeit Georg Morg, der damalige Besitzer, die Erlaubnis "ein Bräuhaus einzurichten".

Auszug aus dem Protokollbuch des Klosters Michaelsberg von 1718

1900
Um das Jahr 1900 hieß die Brauerei "Müller’sche Brauerei zu Gaustadt" und der Inhaber Anton Müller hatte “nur" vier Töchter.

1910
Georg Wörner - der Großvater des jetzigen Brauereibesitzers – war einer der neun Kinder des Brauereibesitzers Michael Wörner vom "Erbacher Brauhaus" in Erbach/Odenwald. Im Laufe seiner Lern- und Wanderjahre traf er in Gaustadt auf Monika Müller - eine der vier Töchter - und heiratete sie am 28. Januar 1910. Seit damals hieß nun die Brauerei "Brauerei Wörner" bzw. später "Bürgerbräu Gaustadt".

 

 

1953
Im Jahre 1953 übergab Georg Wörner den Betrieb an seine zwei Söhne Theodor und Ludwig - damals mit ca. 6.000 hl Jahresausstoß.

1956
Im Laufe der folgenden Jahre konnte der Ausstoß ständig gesteigert werden (seit 1956 werden auch alkoholfreie Erfrischungsgetränke hergestellt), so dass die Brauerei Mitte der 60er Jahre zu klein wurde - für Erweiterungen bestand am alten Standort keine Möglichkeit. Theodor und Ludwig Wörner fassten deshalb den mutigen Entschluss, eine völlig neue Brauerei auf der grünen Wiese zu erstellen.

1969
Nach zweijähriger Bauzeit konnte dann im März 1969 der erste Sud Bier in der neuen Brauerei erfolgen. In weiteren drei Baustufen der Folgejahre erreichte die Brauerei ihre heutige Größe mit ca. 55.000 qm und einer Produktionskapazität von ca. 300.000 hl.

1972
1972 wurde die bis dahin selbstständige Gemeinde Gaustadt im Rahmen der Gebietsreform nach Bamberg eingemeindet. Damit begannen auch die Überlegungen Bamberg mit seinen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Berühmtheiten in das Marketing der Brauerei mit einzubeziehen. Neue Biersorten mit dem Namen Kaiserdom wurden geschaffen; erstmals schenkte man zur Kirchweih 1976 Kaiserdom Pilsener mit großem Erfolg aus.

1978
Nach dem plötzlichen Tod von Ludwig Wörner am 22. März 1978 trat dann umgehend sein Sohn Georg Wörner in die Firma ein. Seinerzeit hatte er zwar schon das Studium in Weihenstephan (Dip|. Ing.) und München (Dipl. Wirtsch. lng.) beendet, befand sich aber noch mitten in einer Promotion bei Prof. Narziß in Weihenstephan, welche er im Interesse des Familienunternehmens abbrechen musste. Bereits zu dieser Zeit entschloss sich Georg Wörner die Biere nicht nur deutschlandweit zu vertreiben, sondern auch den internationalen Export immer weiter aufzubauen. Heute wird weltweit exportiert, in China und Schweden gibt es Lizenzproduktionen.

1980
Kaiserdom fängt an sich kontinuierlich und zielstrebig auf dem Weltbiermarkt zu etablieren.

1986
Zum 1. Januar 1986 übernahm Georg Wömer mit seiner Familie den Alleinbesitz des Brauereiunternehmens (Dritte Generation).

1990
Erweiterung um das Geschäftsfeld Technics und Technologie

2012
Neubau Verladeterminal

2013
Verbesserung und Erweiterung der Abfüllanlage